Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Help with new boiler purchase please

FastEddie
FastEddie Member Posts: 14
edited February 2017 in Gas Heating
Hello Everyone,

I apologize ahead of time as im totally new to boilers. I grew up down south and moved to Long Island and bought a house. The boiler in there now is from 1969 leaks and im sure will die any day. House details are 2800 square feet including basement. Basement does have radiators. 2 zones (one for second floor and one for first and basement together). I only have one baseboard on the second floor. The rest of radiators are in the wall in each room under the windows.

So i have been trying to get quotes and familiarize myself as best as i could with these systems. So far i have 3 quotes. (really 4 but i couldn't stand the guy and do not want to do business with him)

Company 1 is offering Bosch 151 unit - They told me they switched to Bosch from Navien because Navien gave them too many issues

Company 2 is offering Navien 240 (he also quoted me for Bosch because i explained concern about the negative reviews with Navien ) - Company 2 is very fond of Navien and recommends them. Says he has installed 100's of them and no complaints and carries their parts on the truck so if something does break it can be fixed within minutes.

Company 3 is offering Kinetics Energy system 2000 EK-1 or Accel CS. I see they seem to save a lot o money on Oil burners but i dont see much info on Gas burners for them. Also when i try to do research on the forums it seems people either really love them or hate them.