Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

hydronic walls-newbie here

Long time lurker, 1st time poster :smile:

After much reading of archives & other research. I've made a decision.
I've decided I'd like to fully explore the various options of heating my entire house via a system inside of the walls.
Not baseboard.

To keep on subject, I've already decided not to do it via the floors or ceilings, less maybe the bathroom floor, there's plenty written here about hydronic floor heat, so we don't need to discuss that option. The layout of the house, the square footage, existing floors & ceiling height are all issues I've already taken into consideration in my decision.

There's not a whole lot of people writing about doing their walls, outside of their bathrooms, so here I am, because I want to do the entire house this way. This just isn't done in my area, but doesn't mean it shouldn't be.

The house:
Small house, apx 800 sq ft total, balloon framed, mostly gutted to the studs.
3 rooms & bath on 1st floor apx 576 sq ft, w/ a 1 room attic. Has small full basement & also a crawl space under the additions.
I will be heating with oil, no natural gas access.

There are painfully few actual 'professionals' around my area, in hvac or plumbing, though there are plenty of hacks hard selling poorly designed 'systems'. I'm done with people trying to sell me, and am looking to the science of it.
Everyone I've spoken to in my area seems to think they know how to do it, but after reading for the past year, I realize this is not the case.