Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Buderus g115/5 (oil)has a cold leak

tinalhm
tinalhm Member Posts: 19
Hello
I have never used a discussion site before so please bear with me. We replaced our old heating system with Buderus g115/5 in September 2013. I had it cleaned recently and the gentleman found a cold leak in between the back section of the boiler. I am told the boiler needs to be replaced. I believe it will be under warranty from Bosch but I have yet to find out .
The warranty however does not cover labor. My question is this:
I have a service contract with one heating company and I understand from that contract agreement that if I have a different heating company install the new boiler it would void the contract on the service agreement. So how do I determine if the estimate they give me for labor for putting in the new buderus boiler is reasonable?
Also, if anyone has any suggestions about what I should be asking or doing to make sure things go smoothly and I pay a fair price. Thank you.

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,177
    There is nothing to prevent you from having another company come and assess the situation and tell you what they think needs to be done and give you an estimate. They may, and in my view quite properly, should charge for that, but the charge should be reasonable.
    Br. Jamie, osb
    Building superintendent/caretaker, 7200 sq. ft. historic house museum with dependencies in New England
  • GW
    GW Member Posts: 4,691
    It's the age-old question isn't it? You're like everyone else in this society- you just want to pay what's fair. Quite often there is a disconnect on that definition.

I certainly don't have statistics, but my hunch is 1/3 of my business interactions are perceived as "too expensive", 1/3 "about right", 1/3 "I would have gladly paid more".