Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Anyone else find this challenging?

Tinman
Tinman Member Posts: 2,808
Replacing a B&G Series 60 pump in a horizontal position, 4' above the ground, by yourself, while trying to get (and keep) the pump gaskets in place? Because I sure the heck do! Any suggestions on keeping the gaskets in place would be awesome.
Steve Minnich

Comments

• ChrisJ
    ChrisJ Member Posts: 15,588
    I'm not a pro and have never done this, but when working on engines I often use RTV to keep gaskets in place. I've tried high tack but that failed me several times. Just a thin smear will hold it there including the next round.

Single pipe quasi-vapor system. Typical operating pressure 0.14 - 0.43 oz. EcoSteam ES-20 Advanced Control for Residential Steam boilers. Rectorseal Steamaster water treatment
    TinmanCanucker
  • hot_rod
    hot_rod Member Posts: 22,022
    I prefer the flat gaskets with two bolt holes. Hang both gaskets from the top holes slip then pump in and rotate the gaskets.

Sometimes a few wood blocks will help separate the piping to get room for the gaskets without binding.

A short ladder might help hold some of then pump weight to rotate it in, or remove the motor and put it in in two lighter pieces.
    Bob "hot rod" Rohr
    trainer for Caleffi NA
    Living the hydronic dream
  • ChrisJ
    ChrisJ Member Posts: 15,588
    I prefer steam............. :D>:)
    Single pipe quasi-vapor system. Typical operating pressure 0.14 - 0.43 oz. EcoSteam ES-20 Advanced Control for Residential Steam boilers. Rectorseal Steamaster water treatment
  • RobG
    RobG Member Posts: 1,850
    I prefer the flat gaskets and prying the pipes apart as HR does. It only takes a smidgen of a gap to get the gaskets in.
  • hot_rod

hot rod said: