Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

hydronic coil circulator size

margsuarez
margsuarez Member Posts: 54
edited April 2015 in Gas Heating
Hello Heating Helpers,

I am new to homeownership and contracted to have my first boiler installed about a year ago. Forgive me if I get any of the terminology wrong below.

I have a question about the sizing of the circulator for the 3-coil hydronic coil in my ADP B-series air handler (BVRM..31). Currently it's a Taco 0015 running on low setting, on the CH1 secondary loop off the boiler (Triangle Tube Prestige Solo 110). I have CH2 con an equivalent pump (the Grundfos 15-52) also set to low and feeding 2 stories (total 1000sqft) of radiant floor (WarmBoard), which is my primary heat source. Air thermostat is set a couple degrees colder than floors (using it only as backup). To add mass to my system (boiler is oversized) I had set the boiler to turn on both pumps, even if only the floors were calling for heat. I found that this gave me longer burn times and also had a chance of heating the air circulating when my HRV turned on the air handler.

Recently, the CH1 pump started making a grinding noise (motor is warm), so I went back to running CH2 only - CH1 will not run unless temperature falls 2 degrees colder than the floors.

I read the manual for the ADP air handler and computed the head loss of my hydro-air loop. I only have about 10 feet of pipe with about 17 90's (21 if you count the other secondary loop tees and the "dead end" stubs on the supply and return manifold). At any rate, using ADP's computation chart, I figure i have about 2.7 - 3.0 feet of head.

I read that the Taco 0015 is oversized for this hydro coil. To get the 3gpm recommended by ADP I would need 12-14feet of head. I read somewhere also that too much velocity can wear out or damage the coil.