Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Need advice- open radiant system

Hi,

I have posted this over at green building talk .com but I'm getting the feeling that this site has more users. Sorry for the cross post, but I'm just a layman trying to understand my heating system and keep everyone safe.

I recently purchased a home in Westchester County, NY. Long story short, the heating system is set up as follows:

AO Smith Promax Boiler, Model #: FPSH 75l 270

Control board: Taco zvc404-exp

Recirculation pump relay: Argo ar822-II

Recirculation pump: Taco 008-bf6

Radiant floor heat using PEX tubing

I have attached a pic.

I had a plumber stop by recently who looked at the system and said that it is illegal, because apparently the boiler services both domestic AND the radiant heating system. According to him, the water for the heating system "contaminates" the domestic hot water and can get people sick. Naturally I was a bit concerned, not really knowing much about this stuff, and feeling like perhaps I had been ripped off. So I've been doing some digging online, trying to understand this issue.

From what I've found it seems that I have a "open loop" system that mixes domestic and heating system water in a single tank. I can see why that would be "sub-optimal", if there is concern about stagnant water, and harmful bacteria, coming back into the domestic water supply. It doesn't appear to be illegal, however. Perhaps someone could correct me. It looks like in MA you have to install a pump to circulate the radiant heat water every 6 hours.