Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

AquaPex in closed loop

Canucker
Canucker Member Posts: 722
Greetings everyone, hope you had a merry Christmas. I have a question regarding my heating system that I'm sure the collective can help me with(I think I know the answer but I'm still learning)

I have a forced hot water system in my house. It's all cast iron radiation. It was a converted gravity fed system with the great big pipes running around the basement. I decided I wanted to finish the basement, so these pipes obviously had to go. Called around to numerous contractors, found one I was happy with and went ahead with the conversion to a P/S set up, made the first and second floor separate zones plus pipe for the future basement loop, and added an indirect HWH. Boiler was not replaced, as it is still running well. All the radiators were homerun with wirsbo aquapex. At the time, I didn't think anything of it because I don't install heating systems and I was impressed with the fitting system(love it).

Fast forward to a year later and now working part time with a plumbing company to learn the trade, I mention to the gentleman training me that I was aware of the expansion system after he asked. I pointed out that the company that had installed my aquapex boiler piping used it. He laughed and said that he hoped it wasn't aquapex, as it has no O2 barrier and that I'll be replacing pumps fairly often with all the ferrous metal in my system, among other issues.

He seems very knowledgeable but then, so did the person who actually did the work.

So my question, after the long winded story, is this. Is the piping going to be a major problem in my system or should I relax?