Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

CSST bonding...

kcopp
kcopp Member Posts: 4,418
I had an inspector tell me today that when using CSST and bonding the gas line that the bonding wire needed to be stranded #6 copper.... solid #6 was not good enough.... I could not find anyting that mandated this to be true in the Tracpipe manual.

ty,kpc

Comments

• Ironman
    Ironman Member Posts: 7,366
    Solid Copper

If # 6 solid copper can ground a service, why would it not be sufficient for csst? I'd politely ask the inspector to cite the code section for that.
    Bob Boan
    You can choose to do what you want, but you cannot choose the consequences.
  • Jean-David Beyer
    Jean-David Beyer Member Posts: 2,666
    Solid vs. stranded.

I am not a professional and do not know the code. I point that out, because I sure do not want to mislead anyone.

My experience with electrical work (electronics, actually) is that when removing insulation from  wires, it is relatively easy to make small nicks in the wire unless you are using a hot-wire stripper. This applies to both solid and stranded wire, though it is easier to see with solid. If these nicks are small enough, and there is no disturbance, nothing happens, at least right away. Later, they break. Now with solid wire, if it breaks,  you lose the connection. With stranded, you still have some of the conductors to protect the circuit.