Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Heating with hot water for potable use !!!!!!

heatguy
heatguy Member Posts: 102
I am currently working at a site where they are using the hot water to heat with.This is a large high end condo.there are air handlers and  diverting valves in each unit.The common water is supplied at 180* with a mixing valve to temper the water for potable use.My concerns  are when you are not using the heat the water sits stagnant in heating coil in air handler until you turn it on again,then that whatever temp stagnant water is mixed in with the rest ,so  are  they   brewing legionnaire's in these coils ? i called the state and was told if its existing and i service it i accept no liability , being a licenced plumber i am still concerned  what do you think ?

Comments

• bob eck
    bob eck Member Posts: 930
    hot water for heating

if you want to be safe use a plate heat exchanger. run water heater 180* water through one side and run water in the duct coils in the other side.

the two different waters will never touch.
  • Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,160
    I'll go with Bob

and use a heat exchanger to separate the two circuits.

And I'll add that, while I don't recall the Code exactly (something about time...), I do recall that in another life, somewhere back there, when I was a plumbing etc. inspector, I'd never have permitted mixing heating and domestic water without using a heat exchanger -- and an RPZ backflow valve or air gap for filling the heating circuit.
    Br. Jamie, osb
    Building superintendent/caretaker, 7200 sq. ft. historic house museum with dependencies in New England
  • Open System