Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Circulator Pump Selection for Fan Coil Units - Please Help

Options
E_Guy
E_Guy Member Posts: 7

I'm a newbie here. I'm need to select a pump, presumably a circulator pump, for my house, for 3-4 fan coil units(FCUs), to be used for both cooling and low temp heating. (My system is a low temp(~120deg) AWHP & buffer tank, supplying a radiant floor, and I'm now adding the FCU's.). For FCU's, I estimate I will need ~6gpm and ~20ft of head, and system will only be used occasionally, say a few weeks per year for each heating and cooling. What is an appropriate pump for this? I see Grundfos Alpha1 15-55, or Alpha1 26-99, which is what the Grundfos site (quick selection feature) gives me, but I don't really know if these are appropriate. I assume variable speed pump would be appropriate, but again I"m not sure. Please comment.

Comments

• Alan (California Radiant) Forbes
    Alan (California Radiant) Forbes Member Posts: 4,075
    edited May 27
    Options

That's a pretty high pressure drop. Are you adding all three or four together?

8.33 lbs./gal. x 60 min./hr. x 20°ΔT = 10,000 BTU's/hour

Two btu per sq ft for degree difference for a slab
  • EBEBRATT-Ed
    EBEBRATT-Ed Member Posts: 15,740
    Options

What @Alan (California Radiant) Forbes means is what is the head loss for each air handler? The total head the circulator needs to overcome is the air handler with the highest head loss not all of them added together.

• hot_rod
    hot_rod Member Posts: 22,342
    Options

look up the spec sheet on the FCU, here is an example.

That will give you all the info, flow, head, and required SWT for the desired heat output.

Then the pressure drop for the piping, valve, boiler, etc.

This Idronics issue takes you through the steps.

Bob "hot rod" Rohr
    trainer for Caleffi NA