Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Help Needed!! Type L-Vent as a Chimney Liner, but no masonry on roof (just a vent)?

Options
Ramos1445
Ramos1445 Member Posts: 10
edited February 11 in Chimneys & Flues
Hello,
I am the new Homeowner of a two-family house built in 1914. I have no experience in chimneys or venting, so I apologize if my explanation is not good or just bad questions, but I need some help. The house is two stories and split down the middle seperate basements and attic.

1. I am getting a new metal shingle roof installed. Roof is 25+ years old and needs it badly. I also want to do solar on the back side of the house (it's south-facing) and eventually turn the house into all-electric.

2. I have been looking at the chimney since I am doing a new roof. It is a pretty large chimney, about 6 ft tall. You can see it below.

The bad thing about such a big chimney is that it leaves a huge shadow on the roof and i want a clear roof for the solar. Also I would just like to have a consistent roof layer of shingles with minimal penetrations through the roof.

I currently have a 2019 oil Conforto KHM 100 by granby. Here is the manual https://granbyindustries.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/12/KHM-Oil-Manual-E2-Rev-I.pdf

From what I read the " Furnace is approved for factory built chimney type L vents. Breech is certified for 5” vent pipe."

Currently, the furnace is venting to the chimney.

This is a picture looking up from the opening.

When I looked online, I found this manual from Metal Fab. It states

https://mtlfab.com/media/L-Vent_Installation_Instructions-L2147.pdf

""Type L-Vent as a Chimney Liner"

"1. Type L-Vent may be used as a chimney liner in
an unoccupied masonry chimney. It may be used in
conjunction with stainless steel flexible liners or connectors
in chimneys with offsets"

Here are my questions: