Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Gas gun in oil burner and Chimney Liner

Options
wickable
wickable Member Posts: 5
Can someone explain the rationale for a chimney liner for an existing boiler, not currently having venting issues, being replaced by a gas gun? Assuming the same heat rise, due to the size of the boiler, why are some people saying we need a liner for this application?

-There is no water heater on this, so that's not a factor.
- We had the Chimney swept for safety.
- The chimney is not outside wall.

I'd like to avoid the expense as we are going direct vent in a few years.

Comments

• jesmed1
    jesmed1 Member Posts: 560
    Options
    I am not a pro, just a homeowner/mechanical engineer in the MA area. We recently looked at the same option you are, with the same setup, ie an existing oil boiler using a terra-cotta lined chimney which is mostly internal to the house, looking to convert to a natural gas burner.

Here in my MA town the building inspector told us we needed to have a reputable chimney sweep inspect the chimney and make a determination as to whether a metal liner would be required. We found a good local sweep, and he said that, despite the chimney's good condition, converting to gas would require a liner.

The apparent reason for the liner requirement is that natural gas combustion produces more water vapor than oil combusion, with the result that the vapor is more prone to condense inside the chimney and mix with combustion gases to form a slightly acidic condensate that will then eat away at the insides of the chimney.