Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Apartment floor not getting any heat steam

Options
lcmech
lcmech Member Posts: 8
Hello newbie here. Let me give you background of the system apartment building with 16-20 apartments one pipe steam system 4” steam main going around basement with 1 1/4” risers feeding 4 radiators on each floor for each room. On one apartment on a 2nd floor virtually none of the radiators get hot. Bathroom radiators are fine and one radiator in the kitchen first 2 tubes get warm. The others in bedrooms and living room nothing. We’ve taken out the vent completely disconnected radiator and nothing while the 1 1/4” main right next to it is burning hot. The 3rd and 4th floors above it working fine with lady on 4th floor even saying it’s too hot in her apartment.  My next idea to get 2nd floor working is to put vent rite adjustable air valve on 3rd and 4th floor to try to get the steam to the 2nd floor is this right thinking or am I totally missing something here? Any input would be appreciated thank you.

Comments

• ethicalpaul
    ethicalpaul Member Posts: 5,723
    Options
    Honestly with a multi-unit building like that I would be hiring a knowledgable steam contractor. You don't want this liability, even if your state doesn't mandate it.

Also, you might want to count the actual number of apartments in your building so you know how much rent you should be getting every month...you don't want to guess at that :joy:
    NJ Steam Homeowner. See my sight glass boiler videos: https://bit.ly/3sZW1el
  • lcmech
    Options
    Thank you so much for your help buddy 
  • Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,415
    Options