Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

VRF fan coil unit - question for HVAC contractors

Options
I have been told that it is easier to change out an entire VRV fan coil unit, rather than replacing a blower and motor, because the units are so compact and difficult to work on. Has this been the contractors experience? I am an engineer and I am trying to determine whether access needs to be provided to replace the entire unit (which I prefer to do, but the architect/owner wants to minimize access panel size), or it is sufficient just to have enough access space for individual component service and replacement.

Comments

• GGross
    GGross Member Posts: 1,050
    Options
    It is always a wise idea to allow space to replace equipment, how much will it cost the building owner if there is no way to replace the unit without tearing down walls?. Of course if a motor goes bad it is far easier to just replace the broken part, but at some point there is a good chance the entire system, indoor and outdoor will need to be replaced.

I'm sure there is no shortage of techs who don't like working on those units, it is relatively new technology for most techs, but swapping the whole unit out because it is too hard to change a motor of all things is just silly, unless these are different than the units I am familiar with
  • ratio
    ratio Member Posts: 3,633
    Options
    How hard it is to work on them depends on how easy access is. Not just an access panel, but obstructions above the ceiling can impede servicing as well, so keep that in mind. I think enough room to get my shoulders through, positioned so that I could see & touch (from above) everything that I'd need to work on, would be the least worst.