Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Advice is my water boiler enough to heat whole house, please.

Options
sashas
sashas Member Posts: 17
Hi,

The story is that I have two boilers. One is water and the second one is steam. I am trying to optimize my bills and I think I should remove the steam boiler and use the water boiler to heat my house (NYC, private home with basement, 1FL and 2FL)

I currently have a water heater installed and there are radiators in the basement and a radiant floor for floor #1. I would like to add a few radiators to the 1st floor (the heated floor doesn't do well) and add 6 radiators to the 2nd floor.

I currently have a Utica UH15B096FE boiler:

I'm not good at calculations but based on the architectural survey each floor has the same measurements, if I understood correctly: 45.7x19.6 which makes it ~940 sq ft per floor.

3 Floors (Basement, 1FL, 2FL) in sum become 2820 sq ft.

- Do I need to change the existing Utica boiler to another one or is this one can support the whole house?
- How can I calculate it or find it out?

Thank you in advance.

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,323
    Options
    Really need more information. First off, is this a row house? That is, are there other houses immediately adjacent on the two sides? Makes a difference. Second, what -- if any -- insulation is in the walls and roof?

Third, what radiation is in there now? Steam radiators? Hot water radiators? Hot water baseboard? How much of it, and how big are they?