Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Steam radiator too close to electrical outlet?

branimal
branimal Member Posts: 210
I have a large steam radiator that will be a 2"-3" from an electrical outlet. I wasn't thinking straight when I laid out the outlets. The outlet itself isn't necessary b/c there are other outlets in the vicinity. However the outlet is part of a circuit that I need to maintain.

How would you guys proceed?

Thanks

Comments

• Intplm.
    Intplm. Member Posts: 1,883
    I'm not a electrician, but what I have done in this case is remove the outlet since you don't need it. Splice the wires together and install a blank cover over the hole.
    ethicalpauldelcrossvEdTheHeaterManPC7060
  • Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,173
    You could check with your building inspector -- if you feel like it -- and see if he or she has a problem. Otherwise... I don't see a problem unless it's actually behind the radiator.
    Br. Jamie, osb
    Building superintendent/caretaker, 7200 sq. ft. historic house museum with dependencies in New England
    ethicalpaulIntplm.Hap_Hazzard
  • EBEBRATT-Ed
    EBEBRATT-Ed Member Posts: 15,455
    Depends on if your getting it inspected or not.

#1 Splice the wires and put a blank cover on it but stuff some insulation in the box first. That's one way.

But If your having it inspected the box is "inaccsessable" once the radiator is in.

Best way depends on wire access.

If that receptacle is fed from the basement pull the wires back down into the basement and splice the wires in a box.

If the wire runs through the wall I would install two new receptacles one on either side of the radiator. If you have to cut and patch the sheet rock do it,