Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Look at this header.

Options
Shalom
Shalom Member Posts: 165
edited February 2022 in Strictly Steam
So I was at my chiropractor the other day, and he knew I was into this sort of thing, so he told me that he'd just had his boiler replaced, he knew I was looking to have someone to work on mine as well, so he wanted me to look at what he has and see if I wanted to hire the same tech.

Now I'm not an expert, but I don't think risers are supposed to look like this; it kind of looks like the "Before" pictures of spines that need adjustment, speaking of chiropractic. I'm not happy with that bushing at the base either.

He said they needed to move it over to match where the pipe came up from his old boiler.

Hartford loop looks a little weird also.

You can see where they worked on it; the old pipe is painted black, and the new stuff is naturally colored.

I told him I didn't think that was correct, but that with his permission I'd post some pics here and get some comments from People Who Know Better.

I get the feeling his guy was a hot water guy who thought steam was just like hot water, only hotter.

Comments

• EBEBRATT-Ed
    EBEBRATT-Ed Member Posts: 15,545
    Options
    The guy did a nice job. It's piped correctly IF (and it's a big if) the supply from the boiler and the header are large enough which i seriously doubt. Would need the model of the boiler to tell for sure.

Since there are unions in the two supply mains it would have been easy to upsize the header
  • ratio
    ratio Member Posts: 3,628
    Options
    Reducer on the steam outlet.
    reggiBobC
  • reggi
    reggi Member Posts: 515
    Options
    ratio said:
    Reducer on the steam outlet.
    HUGE looking reduction at that !! Looks like it's ready to pop it's cork..