Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Slow to heat all radiators - Trying to figure out venting.

Options
Hello Good Folks:

I’m new to learning about steam, mostly from this amazing website!

I recently had a Burnham IN4 steam boiler installed. From a cold start (water in boiler at room temperature) it takes approximately a 35-40 minute call for heat for all my radiators to get good and hot. I’ve got a small house, 600 SQFT x 2 floors = 1,200 SQFT + basement. I’ve got 4 radiators on each floor (1st and 2nd for a total of 8) + a hot water baseboard loop in the 1st floor living room.

2 radiators off a branch at the begging of the main are quick to heat up, the ones furthest away on the 2nd floor are slower. I’ve got Vent-Rite adjustable vents on all the radiators and I’ve been somewhat successful at tuning the vents to balance the radiators out.

The main only has 1 vent (Vent-Rite #35). It's at the the end of the main at a T above the wet return (See Photo). From what I’ve read that vent is not enough venting. Also, ideally the vent should be back a bit from the end of a main but there are obstructions (support beam, wall, drop ceiling on other side of the wall etc) so I can see why perhaps it is where it is.

I took the Vent-Rite #35 off and ran a timing test to see how long it takes to get steam at the end of the main, HOWEVER before steam came from that direction, steam was coming UP from the wet return so I shut it down and put the vent back on.

Should I just get the largest size replacement vent available with a 3/4” male tread? With a larger size vent on, will steam come UP from the wet return (is that normal?) and cause a problem?

Any thoughts are much appreciated!

Comments

• jhewings
    jhewings Member Posts: 139
    Options