Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

New to steam - major leak in air vent

Options
Knave72
Knave72 Member Posts: 28
edited January 2022 in Strictly Steam
I grew up in the west with exclusively forced air heating. A year ago I moved to Columbus, Ohio from Denver... I used to think of Denver as the east!
The homes in my neighborhood were build mostly between 1900 and 1940 - mine 1936 which puts it in the two pipe era apparently.
I of course found my way to a copy of "The Lost Art of Steam Heating - Revisited" and have been learning about the system. I'm an engineer by trade and figuring out how things work is always a lot of fun.

First observation - almost every radiator in the house had an air vent on it. Almost certainly because the steam traps have all long since failed. Its pretty apparent that this system has had virtually no maintenance beyond the boiler itself.

I have two different types of steam traps and zeroing in on the exact replacement part was a little tricky but now I know I need the TCHF-1409 for the Hoffmans and the TCTR2402 for the Tranes... I have 5 more on order and with that I will have replaced all the steam traps.

Hopefully this helps tame the pipe knocking! Every night it sounds like a steam ship setting sail (is that a mixed metaphor?).

I also replaced two air valves on the steam returns. There seems to be two loops through the house and the end of each loop had a hoffman model 76 which apparently was intended for the vacuum systems. I replaced them both with model 75's. One of them now works as intended. It used to just spray steam the whole time the boiler was on but now it seals...

The other is just pouring water out onto a puddle on the floor, see the attached image.
I'm hoping the replacement of all the traps will help but is there anything else I should be considering?