Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Best option for heating a basement off a 1-pipe steam system

stormbytes
stormbytes Member Posts: 31
In the early stages of a soup-to-nuts redo of a 100 year old steam system in a NYC 2-fam. I'm trying to work through some heating options for the basement/garage and would love some input. I'm already set on installing a steam system so please address my question in that context. I'm not an HVAC professional. I'm a DiY'er with years of experience as a technician, tooled and comfortable working with pipe, water and gas. I'm looking at this **practically** so please criticize constructively, understanding that I'm just doing the best I know how.

System consists of a steam boiler, two main trunks (north and south) and a fully exposed (brand new) wet return that runs along the exposed basement walls. I'm considering the following options:

1. Running the wet return through some baseboard water radiators

2. Mounting steam radiators on the wall, above NWL. Steam would feed through one side and the condensate would come out the other (rad would be pitched accordingly) and piped to the wet return directly below.

3. Running several 2-1/2" horizontal branches (vented) off the main trunk, that would 'act' like radiators. Think: Old rooftop TV antenna. I realize this is sub-optimal, but its simple so, i'm considering it.

4. Running a conventional, circulated hot water loop to some water baseboards from the wet return. Issue here is I don't know the first thing about how to install this.

I think that's it. Let me know what you guys think.

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 24,126