Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Are my zone control boards dying?

Options
Superfireconvoy
Superfireconvoy Member Posts: 15
edited December 2021 in Thermostats and Controls
I am new to hydronic radiant heat with my home and looking to see if I am in need of a new zone control board. 

My current set up:

Weil McLain P-WGO-4 Boiler

5x Taco Cartridge Circulator valves (DHW and 4 zones)

2x Erie Controls SRL300 control boards (each board is only set up for 3 zones)

2 wire thermostats x4

DHW, Basement, and Living room zones on control board 1

Master bedroom and guest room zones on control board 2

priority is not set for DHW and both boards are set to master and neither is slaved to the other

Situation seems to be that the boards are intermittent in operation depending on the zone. Only one zone (basement) seems to be consistently activating the system when thermostat is calling for heat (I.E. lights up board -> opens valve or starts boiler). The other zones and water heater may or may not actuate the board when the thermostat calls for heat. I have also tried bypassing thermostat and simply connecting the RW wires with the same results (no lights and no action on the zone control boards). Sometimes, the zone control board will activate for a short amount of time but not enough to raise the temperature of the zone to the thermostat set temp.