Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

How to Learn Plumbing from Scratch

Options
Hello!

I've been a property manager for about 20 years. Although I hire plumbers to do most plumbing jobs, I have supers do basic jobs like replacing a leaking valve. However, because they don't have actual work experience at a plumbing company, even for simple jobs, the results can turn out pretty bad. (What makes it worse is they can get pretty sensitive if you point out the incorrect method. I don't know much, but there are times when I know that something is not right.)

Since supers work all day and during the weekends, I can't send them to work with professional plumbers as apprentices. (That would also cost me too much when this is for only small, odd jobs.)

I am considering paying for plumbing classes at local community colleges for them. How effective are they to learn simple plumbing jobs like replacing a copper line with a pinhole leak?

Can you guys recommend better ways for supers to get basic training in plumbing?

There are tons of YouTube videos but I can't find any that are comprehensive. Are there specific online courses, videos, or textbooks that you guys can recommend? The main purpose is to make sure they do things the correct way. Furthermore, I don't want them to learn anything too complicated. Anything that's going to take more than an hour, that's still going to be left to actual licensed plumbers. Just basic, practical jobs.

*I posted this in the Plumbing forum, but this forum might be more appropriate.

Comments

• STEVEusaPA
    STEVEusaPA Member Posts: 6,505
    Options
    You'd probably be better off having them just shadow the plumbing professional. Consider it tuition.