Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

question for pros: time+materials or bid?

Options
SomeTradesJack
SomeTradesJack Member Posts: 17
edited March 2021 in THE MAIN WALL
What's better for the tradesman? For the customer? I'm talking service-type jobs not system installs.

Comments

• lostinheating
    lostinheating Member Posts: 31
    Options
    I'm not a professional by any means but 2 issues always a rise. 1) time and material ppl think you're milking it for more money 2) bid if you finish fast people think they're getting ripped off.  I think more people like bid.
  • psb75
    psb75 Member Posts: 833
    Options
    Clients like bids, sure. They like the certainty. If you are GOOD at bidding...BID! You will make more this way. If there is a lot of trust between you and clients... do time and materials....especially if you are learning the business end of things. But it is often difficult to estimate on service work with lots of 'troubleshooting.' DON'T ever quote someone a price over the phone before being ON SITE. I learned all of this above stuff...the hard way.
    STEVEusaPASuperTech
  • GroundUp
    GroundUp Member Posts: 1,907
    Options
    For service, it's almost impossible to bid things fairly as you have no idea what it's going to need. For installs, bid always. I hardly ever visit the site prior to an installation or swap, everything is bid over the phone and documented with what's included and what's not. If I drove to every site to bid every job I was asked to bid and never got, I'd be 4 years behind- I spend at least 2 hours a day doing bids from home, it'd be an easy 6 hours a day if I drove everywhere
    bucksnortHomerJSmith
  • Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,284
    Options