Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Leak below new high efficiency furnace

Options
TomGan
TomGan Member Posts: 15
Hello all. I have a brand new Heil propane furnace in a new home. I noticed water under the furnace in the pan. My builder had the furnace installers come back and they said it was the condensate pump and they replaced it. However, I noticed a few days later it was still leaking. Basically the leaks are slow, but in multiple locations around the base of the furnace bottom. They had put Hardcast foil grip tape around the bottom of the furnace and the water appears to be leaking around the tape also. I'm meeting with my builder later this week and would appreciate any advice. I'm an accountant and know very little about these matters. Thank you all.

Comments

• EBEBRATT-Ed
    EBEBRATT-Ed Member Posts: 15,544
    Options
    High efficiency furnaces condense water out of the flue gas. It's normal to drain that into a condensate pump and pump it to a drain. Condensate from you air conditioning coil will drain there as well (if you have ac).

Hard to say what is wrong without pictures. Some things to watch for that may cause issues are "double trapping" this is where they use a trap (similar to a sink trap but smaller) but then they don't pitch the pipe correctly and it sags and collects water making a double trap which water will not drain through.

Don't pay the last bill until they fix it
    bucksnort
  • TomGan
    Options
    Thank you EBEBRATT. Sorry, I just realized I could attach photos. I just attached two. Hopefully they came through okay.
  • TomGan
    Options
    One more photo attached
  • EBEBRATT-Ed
    EBEBRATT-Ed Member Posts: 15,544
    Options
    @TomGan

Is the leak coming from the piping shown in the picture? Or is something leaking inside the furnace?