Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Radiator vents “breathing,” other oddities. Service plumber needs help!

Ambivalence_83
Ambivalence_83 Member Posts: 11
edited December 2020 in Strictly Steam
I’m a service plumber in an area with lots of steam heat and I can’t figure out what’s going on in my own house. 

House was oil with a cracked boiler *surprise!* I converted to gas. No idea if these issues were here previously. 

1. One first floor rad stays quiet during heating, then suddenly releases a huge loud rush of air out of the vent. 

2. One second floor rad vent “breathes” loudly. Blowing air, sucking air, and sometimes the huge hiss like above. Lasts a long time too. 

During all this, checked the boiler and saw the gauge at 4psi. 

The facts:

House built in 1922. 
An addition was added with a piece of steam baseboard. Has a steam trap on it. 
Properly sized brand new gas steam boiler (sized based on square feet of steam). 
All brand new vari-vents on all rads. 
Brand new Gorton #1 on the end of the main. 
All rads have pitch toward the valve. 
All valves fully open. 
Supplies to rads have proper pitch. 
Honeywell Pressuretrol set to .5psi with 1psi differential. 
Pigtail is not clogged. 
Return is not clogged. 

I’ve tried throttling the gas to reduce the firing rate, but it did not change anything. 

I’m stumped. 

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,275
    irst comment would be -- is that pressure reading from the code 30 psi gauge? If so, it's dubious. If it's from a low pressure gauge -- there's a problem with the pressuretrol. Pigtail clogged? But you say you checked that. Or something amiss with the pressuretrol?