Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Can't get steam main vents off.

Roddy
Roddy Member Posts: 63
edited October 2020 in Strictly Steam
Single pipe steam with a parallel flow, two mains and two returns. One of my returns appears to not be venting at the main. I put some Gortons on this main more than a couple of years ago, and I may have over muscled it as for the life of me I cannot get them off. To add to this, they're in a tight spot way up at the basement ceiling (yes, I raised them up from their original height) and running near a joist. I'm thinking of cutting off the riser and antlers set up and starting over. Thoughts? Should I cut? What's the best, easiest cutting tool so as to not crush any of the pipe? I'm a novice at this, but I've learned a lot from all of the experts here, and my old system works pretty well---until now, that is. Thanks in advance.

Comments

• ethicalpaul
    ethicalpaul Member Posts: 5,695
    Send a picture if you can, that will help give the best advice.

But if you have to cut the riser can you get the remaining piece of riser out? There's nothing worse than cutting in order to get something off and then still not being able to get it off, not that I would know hahahaha

Also before cutting be really sure they have failed. You have verified that they aren't letting out any air?
    NJ Steam Homeowner. See my sight glass boiler videos: https://bit.ly/3sZW1el
  • Roddy