Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

New Radiant System Install Flow Rate Troubleshooting

diyinstaller
diyinstaller Member Posts: 27
edited August 2020 in Radiant Heating
I recently installed an underfloor radiant system in my 1100 sq-ft home, coastal California.
System type I went with is using my DHW as heat source with a HX to isolate the heating loop from potable.

Background: I'm a mechanical engineer but I don't practice in the domain of HVAC design. I purchased and read Siegenthaler's Modern Hydronic Heating: For Residential and Light Commercial Buildings to brush up on the fundamentals and familiarize myself with hydronic heating design best practices before designing my system.

I generally followed this schematic from his book that was given as an example of a DHW heat source with HX:

Following the design process in the book, I performed the room-by-room heat load calcs for my house to determine the best layout for the underfloor tubing, then modeled the hydraulic system to determine the system curve to which I overlayed various pump curves to select appropriate circulators.

I entered all the formulas in a spreadsheet to build the model so that I could tweak the design as needed and experiment with different layouts. All calculations were verified at each step using various example problems from the book.

I installed my system, purged it, and fired it up. The next step was to confirm that it was operating as expected: primarily that the flow rates are correct.