Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Opinions About Burnham Aspen?

Hi everyone - homeowner here wondering if anybody has much experience with the Aspen model from Burnham.

I'm looking to replace my 50-year-old gas boiler, and have gotten a handful of quotes so far. A couple contractors have recommended the Alpine, but when I asked them about the Aspen neither seemed to know much about it. I'm not an expert by any means, but have tried to educate myself by reading some relevant material here and elsewhere, and it seems to me like the Aspen has nice advantages over the Alpine: it has a 10:1 TDR, as opposed to the Alpine's 5:1; and it has a firetube HX, which many here seem to favor from what I can tell, while I suspect the Alpine uses another style of HX, though Burnham doesn't seem to advertise what it is. The 10:1 TDR seems particularly appealing to me, as our home has 4 zones and a lower minimum firing rate would better match the demand from an individual zone, particularly on non-design days.

I know that the installation is at least as important as the equipment, so I'm wondering if I'm overthinking the differences between the the two models, and should go with whichever one the installer is more comfortable with? Alternatively, are these two models similar enough that if the installer is competent with one they should be with the other as well?

Thanks!

Comments

• Ironman
    Ironman Member Posts: 7,367
    The Alpine has a Gianonni HX (water tube, high head, requires a p/s, dedicated boiler circ, higher maintenance).

We recommend fire tube boilers; however, your installer is not 50% of the equation, he's 95% of it.

Take your time and do your homework on the contractor.
    Bob Boan
    You can choose to do what you want, but you cannot choose the consequences.
    Zmanmattmia2
  • kpatters18