Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Modulate steam valve

Options
I've been working with steam systems for about 5 years now. I recently had a conversation with a co worker about modulating the amount of steam going into a coil in a air make up unit. I was always of the understanding that a steam valve is either open all the way or closed. The minute you modulate, any steam hitting the partially open valve will immediately condense. Anyone have any insight into this topic? Or an article research about this.
Thx

Comments

• mikeg2015
    mikeg2015 Member Posts: 1,194
    Options
    You can modulate steam on 2 pipe systems with a steam trap, it just one pipe that you cannot.

All industrial process and a most large commercial steam systems have modulating valves.

The valves are expensive.
  • mikeg2015
    mikeg2015 Member Posts: 1,194
    Options
  • metrosilo
    metrosilo Member Posts: 33
    Options
    Thanks for reply. I guess I'm more curious as to why it can be done. With hot water systems, yes, I understand when you slow the flow, you can control temperature going into the coil. With steam, I was told that it's either on or off. No inbetween. So if you're saying yes, that means that when you slow the flow of steam, you can control the temperature going in and out?
    Basically, gas versus liquid.
  • JUGHNE
    JUGHNE Member Posts: 11,062
    Options
    If you slow the flow of steam, less of the coil will heat up.
    The temp of the steam will be the same, just less steam to condense. Partially heating the coil.

If the hand valve you use for throttling is on a vertical pipe then some condensate could form above that riser.

Works only for 2 pipe systems, not 1 pipe, as the condensate has to flow back thru that valve as the steam comes in.
  • Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,322
    Options