Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Weil McLain installation - valve leak

namahs
namahs Member Posts: 5
edited December 2019 in THE MAIN WALL
We had a professional install a new heating system in our home over a year ago. Everything seemed fine and this is the 2nd heating season. I noticed a leak at the valve recently. It seem like this valve might be leaking for some time, maybe since installation but we didnt notice since its a very slow drip and only when its on. We have 2 Weil McLain boiler for each unit in the house and both are leaking so it doesnt seem like the valve is faulty. Now I am questioning the installation. Can someone please take a look and see if they can find the cause of the slow leak on the valve? I am not a professional but shouldnt the water source go into a left side of boiler where the circulator pump is? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• STEVEusaPA
    STEVEusaPA Member Posts: 6,506
    edited December 2019
    It should've been repiped using modern acceptable methods as well as modern air elimination instead of the ancient air scoop.
    For starters, the air scoop needs a minimum of 18" upstream to work properly (mediocre at best). And the cheapo air vent is also fairly useless.
    And of course, pumping away from the expansion tank.
    For now, You could try to remove the cap, depress the shrader valve to see if it will flush out any sediment (water will be hot!), or you could close the cap to eliminate the dripping until replacement. If it still leaks when closed, you could put some teflon tape around the threads. Ideally the cap needs to be loose to eliminate any air.