Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

HOW TO RUN BLACK PIPE CORRECT PITCH...

I have attached a draft plan of how I intend to run my new 1 1/2 black pipe from my basement up to my new addition on the 3rd floor. (Yes I know Im no artist) My 2inch Main has unused T that is 1 1/2. I am currently trying to remove it now (might have to use more than a torch and PBlaster its pretty stuck) once this happens Im going to use a 45 with a nipple to get a good angle. Im going to run the pipe back to the wall of my basement run it to the right for about 4 feet and then use another elbow for the vertical portion where it will go through my 2nd floor about 8 feet up behind a closet. Once that happens Ill be behind a knee wall in my addition. I am wondering the best way to install a T and use two short runs one to the left and then right. What kind of pitch do I need? Do I use the street 45, regular etc.? What other fittings will I need? I use Blue Monster dope and tape never had an issue. Im about to get precise measurements today. Once the T and those runs are in (which will occur behind the knee wall yes it will be super insulated) what do I use to come through the wall because normally your pipes come up from the floor under you vertically. Here
they will come towards me in the living area.And, I need to know the correct pitch so that my rads can easily drain. Thank you

Comments

• JStar
    JStar Member Posts: 2,752
    You should never add two radiators on the run of a tee like that. Guaranteed water hammer and gurgling noises. One rad should come out of the bull. And both rads should be above the supply line level so steam doesn't clash with returning condensate. Your situation needs to be absolutely perfect to work right. There are so many variables to go wrong.
  • Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,977