Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

boiler running with no call for heat from thermostat

Options
lindera
lindera Member Posts: 26
I came home this morning, and the house felt like an oven at 72F and the boiler was running. We keep the thermostat at 61. We mostly heat with air source heat pumps so the the 61 is just in case they fail. We still use the boiler for heating our domestic hot water using an indirect tank that was installed on March 1. The boiler fires from a cold start and I if I understand correctly (I'm just learning about this) there are are 2 zones, one for the heat and one for the hot water. Everything had been working fine until today, including using the boiler for the steam heat on a really cold night. At any rate I have turned the boiler off because the house was way too hot. Is this a thermostat failure?

Comments

• Intplm.
    Intplm. Member Posts: 1,969
    Options
    If the boiler is running without a call for heat, it very well could be the thermostat. Has there been any recent work to the system?
  • lindera
    Options
    Yes, the indirect water tank was installed March 1, but the system has been working perfectly until today.
  • Intplm.
    Options
    If you are sure the boiler is running wild without satisfying the thermostat, ( and it is not your other heating source ) Then you may have a short on your thermostat, thermostat wiring, or both. This would fool the boiler making it think it needs to run.
    If the t-stat was changed or worked on , this could be what the the problem is as you seem to have suspected.
  • lindera
    Options