Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Issues with Hybrid system

kayzee
kayzee Member Posts: 11
edited March 2019 in THE MAIN WALL
Let me start off by saying, I know very little about plumbing so sorry for the stupid questions in advance....
I live in Long Island New York... Currently have a oil burning Steam radiator system throughout my mainfloor and upstairs heating zone1. When the basement was redone we added baseboards for additional living space, and added a separate thermostat heating zone 2, however we have not turned this on for atleast 3 years now. We recently converted our detached 2 car garage into an office / art studio as we had a new born and i make custom art for a living and dont want my newborn to get these fumes. We had a new 'heating zone 3' put in for the garage as well and everything insulated to the max / proper ventilation as well. The heat works great however i constantly have the pressure dropping. I had the plumber that came who installed the system back numerous times everytime changing something else on the system costing me 100's of dollars everytime, and the last time he came said it might be the expansion tank?? I asked him if it was possible if there could be a leak... he said its not possible on his end with anything he has done, he said he used a 'pex' system he said if its not the expansion tank there could be a pinhole inside the coil of the system, or a leak in heating zone 2... is this even possible? is there a way i can find the leak myself? is there something i can put on zone 3 where even though there is a leak i can have something just add more water anyway?

Thanks in advance for the help

Comments

• JUGHNE
    JUGHNE Member Posts: 11,060
    Pictures of the boiler and its piping showing floor to ceiling, several sides, will help a lot.