Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Steam boiler pressure issue

Options
ajreed312
ajreed312 Member Posts: 10
Hello everyone. I am an HVAC service tech with 12yrs experience but only 4yrs of boiler experience. I am new to this website and I’m having an issue with a residential 2 pipe steam boiler building too much pressure within 10 minutes of run time. The original call was to just do a preventive maintenance on the boiler this morning and it was the first time that the boiler had fired up the season. At one point the boiler was operating over 10 psi according to the gauge. I did find that the siphon tube is blocked and the pressure gauge was reading 2 psi higher than what the actual pressure was. I cleared the siphon tube and verified that the pressuretrol was not plugged. After putting everything back together the boiler was still running too high of pressure. At that point I replaced the pressuretrol (Honeywell PA404A) and pressure gauge because I thought if the system is running over 2 psi then the pressuretrol should be shutting the burners off and it was not. After replacing the pressuretrol, the system is still running at too high of pressure. I shut the boiler off once it reached 7 psi on the new pressure gauge. I did set the cut in psi to .05-.06 and the cut out to 1 psi. That is what I typically set them to. The pressuretrol is tee’d off from the top sight glass valve. I removed the sight glass, top valve and verified that it was not blocked. It was clear. I am running out of ideas as to why the boiler is still firing with a operating pressure above what the cut out pressure is set to. The boiler can’t run long enough for the radiators to start heating so I cannot check the temperature differential across the traps. Any help would be much appreciated.

Comments

• JUGHNE
    JUGHNE Member Posts: 11,062