Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Newbie needs help with steam system

Options
First time homeowner and I am new to having a steam boiler and radiators as I have always had central heat and am in desperate need of some guidance since it’s getting COLD in the northeast. I had this boiler installed on a remodeled home and was assured it was sized correctly by the installer. My problem is I have two radiators which happen to be in the coldest rooms that don’t heat up completely when the boiler turns on. I have put the biggest vents on them I could find (D)and they still only heat up 3/4 of the way. I have made sure there was was nothing wrong with the radiators in question as when I turn up the boiler they heat up completely. Is it possible I need bigger main vents?

Also is insulating foil a necessity behind recessed radiators? My installer did not put any behind a singe radiator claiming there was not enough room? Oh, and I can’t go back to the company as they are long gone!!

Comments

• KC_Jones
    KC_Jones Member Posts: 5,737
    Options
    If I was guessing I would say you need more main venting. The idea of venting is to vent the mains fast (before any rads get steam) and then vent the radiators slowly for control. This gets steam to all the radiators at about the same time so each one can do it's job properly.

If you measure your mains, which would be the amount and size of pipe from the boiler takeoff to the end of main (vent location) we could recommend how much main venting you would require.

Start measuring where I circled in red and stop at your vents.

Also pipe size. I am guessing the mains are 2" pipe, but if you measure the outside diameter we can verify. For reference the actual outside diameter of 2" pipe is 2 3/8".

2014 Weil Mclain EG-40
    EcoSteam ES-20 Advanced Boiler Control