Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Equipment Selection

Options
EBEBRATT-Ed
EBEBRATT-Ed Member Posts: 15,520
Many on this forum are self employed and are able to pick and select the best equipment for the particular job. Count your blessings. When I had that choice I was always picked what I thought would do the best job, whatever brand that was.

Unfortunately, working on larger jobs for a contractor I don't have a choice now. Sometimes better choices could be made, sizing could be better. I have even had equipment ordered the wrong phase or voltage.

Just a rant

Comments

• Mike_Sheppard
    Mike_Sheppard Member Posts: 696
    Options
    I feel your pain. As a service tech I have no control over what the sales guys quote. I can make suggestions but what usually gets quoted is the cheapest possible initial cost with an improper design. I’ve seen multi-million dollar jobs botched. Extremely poor system designs. Extremely oversized boilers. The list goes on... it wasn’t until I started reading and learning about systems and design that I realized how poor some of the work around here is.

Trying to learn as much as I can and raise the bar.
    Never stop learning.
  • ratio
    ratio Member Posts: 3,626
    Options
    @Mike_Sheppard, I'll do you one better. I work on the install side, so I have to install whatever the customer bought, whether design/build or plans & spec, but I get reamed from our own service manager for installing unsuitable equipment or not enough/wrong accessories! :disappointed:
  • nicholas bonham-carter
    nicholas bonham-carter Member Posts: 8,576
    Options
    Somthing is wrong with this scenario……
    Maybe the description/quote of work to be done should be vetted by the installers first.—NBC
  • NY_Rob
    NY_Rob Member Posts: 1,370
    edited April 2018
    Options