Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

ELECTRICAL GROUNDING

Jackmartin
Jackmartin Member Posts: 197
edited March 2018 in THE MAIN WALL
Hello from Winterpeg, it is 8 degrees for Easter and someone forgot to tell the weather station is is supposed to be spring, so Happy Easter anyway. Our eldest son, asked me to pop over to his house, as he had an interesting problem. He is an electrical engineer and he works designing transformers for the power industry so this is something he deals with on a day to day basis. He had borrowed my clamp meter so he could take some amperage readings and he found something that I had never heard of before. Now, I should state here, I have had a lot of experience with primary wiring as my old man was an electrical contractor and since I was free labour, I have been turning a screwdriver since I was ten. The nicest thing my old man ever did for anybody was die, please stay that way Dad.
However, I digress, my son takes me over to the earth ground for his house, in this case the cold water pipe coming in from the street, and puts the meter on the grounding wire and it shows 1.8 amps. I have a brand new Fluke, since my old Analog Amprobe gave it up, so we knew the meter was not at fault. I have never seen this much amperage at the water line ground, or should I say, I have never seen any readable amperage at this point.