Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

New boiler needed - suggestions on brands/BTUs?

Options
sbug
sbug Member Posts: 2
Greetings all! Noob here. Sorry if there is a thread/discussion on boiler sizes and ideas on what to purchase.

Our Munchkin 80M finally pooped out after at least 15 (probably more like 20) years. Looking for a replacement. The space is a 1st floor apartment, about 1100 sq ft, 8 radiators (front hall, back hall, 2 bedrooms, small bath, kitchen, pantry).

2nd floor has it's own system. Basement not heated.

Any questions I should ask, brands to avoid....? BTU's for this space??

TIA for any thoughts!

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,324
    Options
    Hot water heat I presume? Then the very first step is a heat loss assessment of the space to be heated. SlantFin has an excellent downloadable application for the purpose.

Then the next step is to select the correct size boiler to match that heat loss. This selection should also take into account the kind and amount of radiation you have, as you may or may not be able to use a mod/con boiler, depending on how hot the water has to be which depends on the radiation.

Then the third step is to find a really good reliable contractor. He or she will have ideas as to what makes of boiler they prefer to work with -- and it is usually best to go with those. The installer and installation quality are far more important than the boiler make and model!
    Br. Jamie, osb
    Building superintendent/caretaker, 7200 sq. ft. historic house museum with dependencies in New England
  • JUGHNE
    JUGHNE Member Posts: 11,062
    Options
    CI rads or baseboard convectors?
    Was the 80M ModCon more than enough for the heating?
    How about DHW needs?
  • rbeck
    rbeck Member Posts: 56
    Options