Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Upstairs radiators are very oversized

Waterbury Steam
Waterbury Steam Member Posts: 53
edited December 2017 in Strictly Steam
I've been working on my two pipe steam system for the past several years and I've gotten to the point where the system is nicely balanced most of the time. When outside temperatures are above about 20 degrees, the system heats nicely and evenly without building any more than about 2 oz/sq in of pressure. None of the radiators get filled enough for any of their steam traps to close at these temperatures. All of the radiators get hot within a couple of minutes of each other and I don't see any temperature differences between rooms greater than about a degree. It's very comfortable.

This all goes out the window when a cold snap arrives. Calls for heat get longer and the upstairs bedrooms can climb up to about 78+ degrees while every room downstairs maintains the 71 degrees that I set on the thermostat. I did heat loss calculations for every room and compared them with EDR of currently installed radiators, and made adjustments for radiator boxes where they exist. What I found is that all of the downstairs radiators are properly sized, while each bedroom has a grossly oversized radiator. According to my estimates, I should have about 12-13 EDR for the guest room and the nursery, and about 25 EDR total for the master bedroom. As it is now, the nursery and guest room each have a big 30.25 EDR rad, and the master bedroom has two of these monsters for a total of 60.5.

What I think is happening is that when colder weather creates long heat calls, the downstairs radiators reach capacity and the traps close, redirecting all of the steam upstairs to the oversized rads which still have open traps.