Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Slab edge insulation retro-fit

Options
Jack
Jack Member Posts: 1,047
I've run into this a couple times recently where folks have radiant slabs and have not insulated under the slab or slab edge or both. In one case recently it led to the abandonment of the radiant as costs were $600-800/month, and that is here in the CA foothills with a very much more moderate climate than many of you work. With the landscaping and attached patios, etc, adding the slab edge insulation was just to much to do in the owners eyes. I just had a fellow ask me today if he could dig around the footing and foam it? He had insulated under the slab. I would lean towards 2' rigid that is flashed in, but I'm not an insulation expert. How do you handle these situations?

Comments

• Zman
    Zman Member Posts: 7,569
    Options
    The edge insulation can be a tough one. Any time you try to get other trades to do anything different from the way they were taught it is a problem. The area of exposed concrete on the outside of the building is a tough one to detail. I think the best detail for most jobs is to insulate the inside of the concrete wall. I like this detail.
    "If you can't explain it simply, you don't understand it well enough"
    Albert Einstein
    Canucker
  • Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,286
    Options
    That detail is the way to do it -- if you are doing it when you are pouring the slab and footings. Otherwise... not so much.