Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

radiant chemical treatment recomendations

mburg
mburg Member Posts: 46
I installed a new boiler on a radiant system originally installed 20 years ago. the system had onix tubing. I here that this tubing did not have an oxygen barrier. I have issues with sludge formation my dirt separator completely plugs up every year and each radiant loop has to be purged or flow is cut down to almost nothing. since replacing the tubing is not an option what can I do to help keep the system clean. is there a chemical treatment that will put a oxygen barrier on the tubing? Any recommendations for water treatment to make the system manageable would be greatly appreciated. I have no experience with using any chemical treatment witch makes me hesitant but I feel this job may require it.

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 24,094
    edited November 2016
    There are oxygen scavengers available. This website: http://www.accepta.com/water-treatment-chemicals-wastewater-effluent-treatment-products/boiler-water-treatment-chemicals/oxygen-scavengers-boiler-water-treatment-chemicals
    has comments on some of them. Most of them are not nice to work with -- do use an RPZ backflow preventer if there is any possible connection to domestic water -- but they do work and might help. That's not the only website, though -- google "oxygen scavenger" for more!
    Br. Jamie, osb
    Building superintendent/caretaker, 7200 sq. ft. historic house museum with dependencies in New England
  • hot_rod
    hot_rod Member Posts: 22,786
    First a good cleaning with a hydronic detergent like Rhomar or Fernox. Then assure the system holds pressure and is leak free, it may have a small leak and be taking on water and minerals?

Next fill it with low TDS water, add a conditioner from the above companies.