Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Looking for good advice on sweating copper (newbie here)

Options
2»

Comments

• warno
    warno Member Posts: 229
    Options
    I got alittle bit more ran this morning. Then ran out of elbows. It's crazy how quick you go through fittings.
    ChrisJ
  • hot_rod
    hot_rod Member Posts: 22,158
    Options
    warno said:

They sure do sell those fittings but by putting the copper to stainless and so on I eliminate one or 2 thread fittings each time. Like I've mentioned before around here I hate thread fittings. The fewer I have to happier I am. I've had too many occasions where I thought "yep that's tight enough" and don't put a union or some other break point and I have a leak, resulting in me tearing half of everything back apart to reset.

I was told to go from copper to cast iron you need a brass nipple into the cast piece to avoid electrolysis and getting a leak at the thread. Don't know how true it was I didn't want to chance it.

And yeah, I like fire and burning stuff and melting things too. Lol

Pretty much all hydronic components are available as sweat versions, and many in press. Balance valves are one exception, as they often go into coil kits with flex hoses.

Urban myth on the copper to cast in a sealed loop application, but you have a nice work around.
    Bob "hot rod" Rohr
    trainer for Caleffi NA
    Living the hydronic dream
  • warno
    Options
    Well, good to know I didn't have anything to worry about. I guess then it saved me the money on the added fitting into the cast because I made the bimetal sweat at work from scraps.

I'll keep that in mind for future reference. Thank you.
  • SWEI
    SWEI Member Posts: 7,356
    Options
    Bead blasting?
  • warno
    Options