Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Looking for good advice on sweating copper (newbie here)

warno
warno Member Posts: 229
edited September 2016 in THE MAIN WALL
I'm a welder not a sweater(?), I weld pipes nearly everyday. But I have only done a few sweat jobs.

I have a few dissimilar metal joints in my plumbing project that I'm doing at home and I handled them ok at work on the bench. They were copper to stainless, and I used 50% silver solder and high temp Flux. Our inspector at work said they looked really good for my first time doing dissimilar metals. Then I had to do a simple copper to copper joint. I want using a 5% silver with no flux. I wasn't getting it hot enough and got frustrated to the point I asked our copper line lead man for help. He knocked them out no problem.

So that was at work now I have to do my at home portion of the project. Almost all of it is copper to copper with the exception of 7 sweat fitting brass body valves I need to put in. 4 of the valves are mounting vertical and will need the solder to flow up into the joint (not sure of proper terminology). I think I can handle the copper joints for the most part but I'm really worried about burning the seats out of my valves. I have a "cool gel" spray I plan to use but I'm still concerned.

So my question is could anyone point me in the direction of a good advice youtube video or online advice or give any advice that could help me out.

Please and thank you in advance.

Comments

• hot_rod
    hot_rod Member Posts: 22,018
    Soft solder is what you want to do, under 500° melt point.

I use JW Harris Bridgit.

Here is a video from their site.

Nibco and the copper.org also have soldering videos

Don't over flux, don't overheat, clean fitting and tube with scratch cloth.