Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Heated floors

Options
mwags
mwags Member Posts: 14
edited August 2016 in Radiant Heating
I'm a big diy guy. I'm really new to hydronic heat. I am completely remodeling a bathroom and would like to add floor heat and eliminate the baseboard heater. What would I need to reduce the temperature for the floor heat? I might do the same for the kitchen next year and run it on the same zone.

Comments

• Gordy
    Gordy Member Posts: 9,546
    Options
    First thing would be to perform a heatloss calculation for the bathroom, and kitchen. This is to be sure that the btu requirement can be covered by the radiant floor alone. Since you will be removing the baseboard heat.

What type of radiant floor will you be installing?
    Suspended tube
    Staple up
    Sandwich

If your electric rates are not astronomical. An electric Matt system would be a nice floor warming option. They come with timers, and or schedule thermostats. So you can program for mornings etc.
  • mwags
    Options
    It's a pretty custom install. Floors have been built up to match the rest of the house. I am planning on sandwiching pex between the subfloor on the joists and the subfloor for the ceramic tile.
    GordySTEAM DOCTOR
  • Gordy
    Options
    What you have to be aware of if the bathroom is small is there may not be enough floor space to generate the same output your base board did.

Sandwich is good. With plates is better. 6-8 inches in center better yet.

• Ironman
    Ironman Member Posts: 7,376
    Options
    Yes, you would need lower water temp, plus there could be several other considerations that may need to be addressed, not the least of which is that the floor may not produce enough heat for the bathroom.