Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Boiler possibly oversized?

Options
SKR918
SKR918 Member Posts: 18
Hi there!

Newbie here, and I made the unfortunate mistake of finding this helpful site *after* purchase and installation of a new steam boiler. I ordered one of Dan's books, and it will arrive tomorrow.

We had a 90,000 BTU boiler, and it was replaced with a 112,000 BTU system. The sales person said this would be no problem, that in fact we would have better heat. This was before I learned about measuring the EDR. I did that last night, and came up with a BTU measurement of 91,000.

Well, we've had nothing but issues: boiler overfilling, severe water hammer, water spurting out of air vents, and the sound of water boiling coming from the radiator.

They keep coming back to fix all of these individual issues, but - is it possible that the boiler is simply too big for our house? The techs are saying no, but something just doesn't seem right to me.

Thanks very much in advance for any advice you can give.

Comments

• pecmsg
    pecmsg Member Posts: 4,845
    Options
    Oversized and piping issues is my WAG!

Can you post pictures?
  • Dave0176
    Dave0176 Member Posts: 1,177
    Options
    Post pics of your piping around the boiler, and what was the EDR number not BTU?
    DL Mechanical LLC Heating, Cooling and Plumbing 732-266-5386
    NJ Master HVACR Lic# 4630
    Specializing in Steam Heating, Serving the residents of New Jersey
    https://heatinghelp.com/find-a-contractor/detail/dl-mechanical-llc

https://m.facebook.com/DL-Mechanical-LLC-315309995326627/?ref=content_filter

I cannot force people to spend money, I can only suggest how to spend it wisely.......
  • ChrisJ
    ChrisJ Member Posts: 15,677
    Options
    Yes, please post pictures of the boiler and it's piping.