Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

2nd floor steam radiator cools off/does not stay hot

LionA29
LionA29 Member Posts: 255
edited February 2016 in THE MAIN WALL
Hi guys
I have a A frame cape brick and located in Floral Park.
I'm New to steam and I'm trying to figure out why my daughter (9yrs) room 2nd floor farthest from the boiler will not maintain 70° with thermostat. It cools off after thermostat is satified and the boiler will cycle on and off at 70° but will not heat it up back until I raise it +2°. That will take thermostat to 72°.
Then it will heat up and cools off. The room will go down to 63° while the thermostat is at 70°.
30" radiator
New varivent valve
New Gordon main vent #2
Clean water
Pressure troll Cut in 3 psi & 2 diff
Can't seem to get this fix.
Anyone can recommend someone to fix this problem, I will be greatful.
Thank you

Comments

• The pressure is too high, and may be interfering with the main vent allowing the air to escape. Try setting the pressuretrol as low as you can get it, (under 2 psi), verified by a low pressure 0-3 psi gauge.
    What sort of vents are on the other radiators? The varivent is quite a spitter. Having Maid-o-mist vents with changeable orifices would be better, with the smallest orifice selected at first.
    The goal would be to get steam to all radiators at the same time. Probably this radiator is slower to get steam because the other highly vented ones hog all the steam during the beginning of the cycle.
    Will people know where Floral Park is, without a zip code?--NBC
  • jonny88
    jonny88 Member Posts: 1,139
    What is the Taco circ in vertical position doing.Also does your pressure relief valve discharge often as I see they piped a drain to it.
  • Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,159