Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Furnace short cycling when only one zone used

Options
TalShiar
TalShiar Member Posts: 8
Hi, I have a Comfortmaker C9UHX, 100k, BTU 5 ton (C9UHX100L20A2). It is installed with 2 zones and appears to operate fine if 2 zones are calling for heat. Most of the time only one zone needs heat. Every since it was installed when only one zone needs heat it will blow for a couple of minutes, turn off for 5-10 minutes and come back on. This takes a very long time to heat the house and I believe it is not operating properly. Yes, I called the installer back out after the install but they would never come out to fix it. I called someone else out but they were not sure what was wrong.

I have a degree in electrical engineering and built the house my self so I confident doing any repairs. I am hoping you guys can help.
THe error code is 3 short flashes. I believe this is the correct manual

Is it over heating and shutting down? Can I reduce the burner power when only using one zone?
Is it another issue?
I am happy to do some testing on my end

Comments

• Jamie Hall
    Jamie Hall Member Posts: 23,322
    Options
    I couldn't find a list of the error codes in that manual. However, my guess would be that when only one zone is open the furnace isn't getting enough air and overheating. These things are designed for and require a certain minimum air flow through the heat exchanger!

Unless the burner is specifically designed to be two stage or modulating, it probably is not a good idea to try and down fire it.
    Br. Jamie, osb
    Building superintendent/caretaker, 7200 sq. ft. historic house museum with dependencies in New England
  • TalShiar
    Options
    So they installed the wrong furnace, I am not able to correct it and have to buy a new one?
  • ratio
    ratio Member Posts: 3,627