Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Do I "need" a tigerloop?

Options
Hi all,

firstly, apologies if this has been covered elsewhere. I did a search but couldn't find what I needed.

I'm a complete novice with regards to all things oil so forgive me my basic lingo/knowledge, please.

In March, oil stopped flowing to burner. Checked tank. Oil was low but not empty. Called my regular tech out and he bled the system (by manually sucking the air out! Gross) and things worked fine again...for a week and a half. Same thing happened so called him again. He came out, did the same, checked the oil filter, and said all should be fine. It was...for another two weeks, then it stopped again. He came out a third time, pulled through a load more oil, and claimed that all the air was gone. It worked for another three weeks and then stopped again. At this point, having very little money (I'm a mature student) and the ambient temp warming, I decided to leave it and get it sorted when the temperature began to drop...which is now.

The external tank is higher than the boiler and around twenty feet away. It is single line system with a top outlet on the external tank, as can be seen in the photos. I contacted a new tech who, over the phone, claimed he knew what it would be (blocked filters he said, which I agree with). He then said that I would definitely need a tigerloop fitted.

Having done a bit of research, I understand the benefits of a tigerloop in my system however I can't help but feel that I don't "need" one in order for the system to be up and running again. I have had zero issues with air in the system up until this problem occurred, and the system is around 15 years old. He claims that he would be unwilling to do the work unless he fitted a tigerloop.