Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Wood Furnace connected to traditional furnace

GW
GW Member Posts: 4,795
I have little experience with wood furnaces being parked next to regular furnaces. I looked at this one job where there are the basic manual dampers on both sup and ret connecting the two appliances. The person wants to update their furnace, keeping the wood furnace. Are there some basics that need to be obeyed- in other words, what keeps the gas/oil furnace from simply cycling its energy through the wood appliance? Or, is it better to tip my hat and let some other person do this type of install?

Thanks, Gary
Gary Wilson
Wilson Services, Inc
Northampton, MA
gary@wilsonph.com

Comments

• hot_rod
    hot_rod Member Posts: 22,787
    I would think the same logic applies to air handlers as hydronic boilers. You would never want the gas furnace flowing through the wood fired one.

I've also been told the wood fired ones can run very hot, possibly causing concern with limit switches in the gas fired equipment.

In hydronics a simple 3 way valve or a few pumps with hydro separation solves that. With ducting, it seems some sort of full sized dampers would be needed to get 100% separation between them??
    Depending on manual operation of that damper would concern me. Wonder if the manufacturer of the gas furnace would void warranty if they knew of this "cross connection"

Do you like to gamble :)
    Bob "hot rod" Rohr
    trainer for Caleffi NA
    Living the hydronic dream
  • GW
    Thanks HR, no I don't like to gamble for such small numbers such as this. When i roll the dice there are bigger carrots at the end.

The trouble is the gas furnace sends air to the house, the wood sends heated air into the gas furnace (well, it's an oil furnace now), your 3-way mix valve analogy is a bit different.