Welcome! Here are the website rules, as well as some tips for using this forum.
Need to contact us? Visit https://heatinghelp.com/contact-us/.
Click here to Find a Contractor in your area.

Wm gv90+6 with an indirect hot water tank

Options

Comments

• Zman
    Zman Member Posts: 7,569
    Options
    Why do you think you cannot do an indirect with a conventional boiler?
    I can't remember the last time a saw a conventional boiler without one...
    "If you can't explain it simply, you don't understand it well enough"
    Albert Einstein
  • maybemark
    maybemark Member Posts: 1,131
    Options
    Like i said at the begining, i am not a proffesional at this at all. i assumed you can not put an indirect on a conventional boiler. i didn't know the controls on the boiler aloowed you to do it.
    I have cast iron radiators, which i thought did not need as much heat as the indirect tank needs.
    I guess i should look into this closer
    I do notice that the burnham esc model does have the ability of installing DHW with it. I should also check out other models.
    Maybe my plumber is not all that wrong for me, and stick with the standard, v high effeciency.
    If i can not afford a proffesional for anual maintance.
    All comments would be appreciated
    thanks
    happy turkey day
    mark
  • icesailor
    icesailor Member Posts: 7,265
    Options
    You guys are going down a bad path.

You do NOT consider a basement that has a boiler and piping in it as an unheated space. The basement is considered at 1/2 the total heat loss as if it was an exposed wall. Like you do with enclosed, unheated knee walls. If the outside temperature is Zero (-0 degrees F') and the inside heated/conditioned space is 70 degrees (70+') then the knee wall space is considered to be at 35 degrees. So, if the knee wall exposed needs 5,000 BTU's to cover the loss, you calculate the loss at 2,500 BTU's.